Old Stavanger

I have been very remiss at posting on my blog lately for a large variety of reasons, but I promise to get back into the routine now.

I have recently returned from a recuperative cruise to Norway with my wife, who has just come through pretty severe chemotherapy for liver and bone cancer. We both just needed something to get our strength back. Naturally the camera went with me and I am now busy editing my work and sorting out a few suitable images for these pages.

The streets of the old town area of Stavanger are pristine, and in general empty of locals who must dread the arrival of large cruise ships who can dump around 6,000 visitors a day onto their doorsteps, all carrying cameras. It is, of course, difficult to find a different corner which has not been photographed by everyone else – or for that matter to find any street which is not packed with people from just about any nationality except Norwegian. I assume the locals return at night to await the next onslaught, and just wait for winter to arrive.

I don’t walk too well and spotted a bench in a quiet corner so I headed for it and found this unusually messy scene which could be straight out of the work of Walker Evans! This just shouted ‘black and white’ as soon as I saw it so I shot it on the X-Pro1 with the 18mm lens. I then edited it in SilverEfex Pro2 using the green filter to lighten the tree, and the Selenium toner to give it the tone. I hope you approve:

Garden, Stavanger

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in 18mm, Art Print, Black and White, Fuji X-Pro1, Monochrome, photography, Prints for sale, SilverEfex Pro 2 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Stavanger

  1. "Occam Blade" says:

    Glad to hear you had a chance to recharge yourselves. I empathize with your journey and as you already know, photography can be wonderfully therapeutic. Caregivers need as much support and encouragement as those who receive special care. Don’t shortchange your own mind and body.

    • Gerry Walden says:

      Thanks for your kind thoughts. It has been a long journey but for the time being we are in some kind of normality. My wife was first diagnosed with breast cancer 13 years ago, and was diagnosed with liver and bone cancer about 15 months ago – it was a spin-off from the breast cancer. We are just so grateful that we live in a city with a great cancer unit which is in the forefront of treatment. You are never cured and it lives with you every day, but at the moment it has been massively reduced and hopefully will stay at the level it is. Again, thank you for your kind thoughts.

Leave a Reply

