Using Photo Mechanic to resolve a problem with Capture One

I really like the way Capture One from Phase One processes images, and I find it superior to most other raw processing engines, but I have had two major problems with it, namely:

1. images converted to .dng files using Lightroom (of which I have many) do not appear browser panel. I have discussed this with Phase One and it is because they are not linear .dng files (unlike the files from Leica digital cameras.

2. Early .nef files from the Nikon D1X (which was my camera of choice) appear purple in the browser and cannot be processed. Again I have discussed this with Phase One and they say it is because of the pixel format in the files.

I am delighted to say that I have finally found a resolution to these problems which, although a little long-winded, appears to resolve both problems perfectly so I thought I should pass it along.

The biggest problem was to convert files in to linear .dng files, which Adobe DNG converter normally does not do. However if you are a user of Photo Mechanic you will find under the ‘Tools’ menu a ‘Convert RAW to DNG’ option which has the choice of converting the raw file to a linear .dng file. This uses the Adobe DNG converter to do so, and it will even convert existing .dng files into linear .dng files.

This solution resolves both of my problems making earlier .nef files and Lightroom-converted .dng files readable in Capture One without replacing the original files that have been converted. OK, you have to have Photo Mechanic (which is also a great program) and it is not an instant solution but it certainly appears to work.

I have started using it now on selected files on an ‘as and when’ basis.

Hope this helps somebody out there.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Capture One, Nikon, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Using Photo Mechanic to resolve a problem with Capture One

  1. "Occam Blade" says:

    Always interesting how these gremlins create some additional angst that we don’t need. Funny, I have gone back to analog for some of my work, specifically shooting 6×6 chromes and negatives. I know that umpteen years from now, given good care and storage, I can still open a box—hopefully acid free—remove a strip and still see my images. However, in our digital, electronic age, this kind of info is appreciated, helpful and informative.

    • Gerry Walden says:

      Thank you for your comments, and for taking the time to read my blog which I have neglected of late. I understand where you are coming from with the analogue thing but the reality is that if I go back to my old trannies they are generally not as good as I thought they were and generally require a lot of work to get them usable. And then of course you also find the scanner is no longer supported … There is never an easy answer.

  2. Andrew McAllister says:

    Thanks for sharing your findings.

Leave a Reply

