Aperture 3

As a photographer one of the things I am doing maybe too much of these days is sitting in front of my iMac and editing my images. In the days which seem so long ago now, I shot a roll of film, it went to the lab and then I sorted through the prints a few days later. In those days your shooting was limited to some extent by the costs involved, and I look back on getting it in the neck from the studio where I learned wedding photography for breaking into the fourth roll of 120. You see, I was allowed 3 rolls (36 shots) and that was considered more than ample to produce a standard 20 print album. Oh, how times have changed and, if anything, maybe we now overshoot.

One of the great benefits we now have though is we can ‘adjust’ our images within such great programs as Aperture 3. Here is a shot as it came out of the camera:

OK, it is not a great shot but it serves to illustrate my point. It was taken as a grab shot whilst driving along a country lane. It was shot on a Nikon D300 with a Nikon 10 – 24mm lens set at 10mm. the point is, it is too dark at the base, and the sky is just a bit flat etc. Also, if you saw the shot at 100% there is chromatic aberration meaning I have a green fringe around items on the edge of the frame (one of the pleasures of any 10mm lens I guess. So, a bit of work with the polariser brush and the exposure brush, followed by adjusting contrast and the chromatic aberration slider and we can make the image far more usable. This where digital really does come into its own. Aperture 3 has great adjustment tools but, not only that, you can brush the adjustment exactly where you want it! It will never make a silk purse out of a sows ear, but here is the finished version to give you an idea:

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

