Sweet Sixteen

Increasingly popular here in the Uk are ‘End of Year’ proms for students finishing their last year and school before moving on to college at around the age of sixteen. They normally take place at suitable venue with the students dressing up in ball gowns and suits etc., and then being chauffeured to the location, often in a limousine. I am sure you know the type of thing I mean, and as an ‘older parent’ whose children now have children of their own I can honestly say I am glad that these are a recent fad because I have three girls (including twins) and I am sure the whole affair would have cost me a small fortune! Now I just have to wait for my grandchildren to reach a suitable age, and sit on the sidelines and watch as a doting grandparent.

It was a doting grandmother who telephoned me last week and asked me to photograph her granddaughter just before she set of to her prom. The only small problem was (as a photographer) the only suitable place to do this was in family home in the centre of town. One of the things I have learned over the many years behind the camera is that you never know what you are going to get thrown at you, and you have to deal with the situation and get the best possible results that you can (which is, after all, what we are paid for). Often no amount of planning etc. can help at all. I set off with portable backgrounds and lights etc. not knowing what the house would be like, but it soon became clear that the only suitable place to take the photos would be in the small garden which was walled and fenced. Emma proved to be a great girl, and she was no trouble to photograph at all, but I would have liked a better location. However, as I hope you can see below, with a little bit of additional work on the computer in Lightroom 3, I produced a perfectly acceptable portrait of a young girl moving to the next stage of her life. I hope she liked it!

For the technically minded: Nikon D300 with 105mm f2.8 Micro-Nikkor 1/60th f6.3 at 200 iso – natural light.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Lightroom 3, photography, Portrait and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

