R.I.P Tony Curtis

I have just sadly heard of the death today of Tony Curtis, legend of the silver screen and television. I had the great pleasure of spending a few minutes in his company almost exactly two years ago and found him to be an absolutely charming superstar and one of the easiest people I have ever had the pleasure of photographing. One of the problems of what I do is that I seldom get to meet people for any long period, but have to try and capture their ‘essence’ in a fraction of a second. The above image was taken at the Cheltenham Literary Festival in a small and very crowded dressing room prior to his appearance on stage to talk about his life. Despite the efforts of his agent, Tony was a true gentleman and could not have been more co-operative, and I will long treasure that fleeting meeting. As well as being a great movie star Tony was also a very fine artist and I feel sure he would have taken his palette to wherever he now is. He is a man who will definitely leave this place saddened by his loss.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Film, Hollywood, Nikon, photography, Portrait, Star, Stock. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to R.I.P Tony Curtis

  1. Rob says:

    Bless the genius.

  2. I have a blog for Mr.Tony Curtis also,He has been one of my favorites my daddy and I would sit with popcorn and watch his movies

  3. nearlynormalized says:

    Yes indeed he had a full life…Jewish boy from Brooklyn did well. To a life well lived, you made us proud Mr. Curtis.

  4. Ah … I know a lady who will be sad to hear this.

  5. Susan says:

    Very great loss, My prayers are with another great star Jamie Curtis…Tony’s daughter I feel your pain, may the lord up above comfort you in this time of mourning.

  6. I know the feeling. Sometimes a few minutes is far too fleeting… sometimes it’s way too long. Depends upon the person. I’m happy for you that you had the opportunity of meeting Mr. Curtis and found it so positive an experience. The resulting portrait is quite wonderful. Thanks for sharing. — JG

  7. Sunflowerdiva says:

    Yes, rest in peace to Mr. Curtis.

  8. dailymail1 says:

    Jewish, Hindu, Muslim, Christian, does it really matter>human,handsome,talented,actor,father, husband.

  9. achilliad says:

    I loved his chilling portrayal of The Boston Strangler the best; I think it gave me nightmares as akid. My condolences to his daughter, Jamie Lee, another icon and charmer with a brain.

  10. Ah thats so sad!
    Thanks for blogging and congrats on getting being Freshly pressed!
    http://www.meandmybiro.wordpress.com

  11. annbarbara49 says:

    R.I.P. Tony. You will live on in all the great films you made.

  12. Villa Ylle says:

    R.I.P.!!!

  13. Villa Ylle says:

    Tony Curtis with Miss Universe Armi Kuusela (Finland)in Hollywood 1952

  14. calogeromira says:

    I do not know much about him.

  15. mattvolke says:

    Sad news, indeed. We just posted on this, too.

    http://themoviebros.com/

  16. Lois Kackley says:

    Thank you so much for offering your personal experience with Tony Curtis. Made the lump in my throat stick “too” long. His sweet handsomeness made my teenage years slightly less harrowing. smiles to all who feel a tenderness with his passing.

  17. A great photo and fitting tribute.

  18. CrystalSpins says:

    Thank you for sharing about your experience!

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  19. Gloriadelia says:

    awwww… Loved him in Spartacus.

  20. popscure says:

    I met him a few years ago, he was funny and genuine. R.I.P. Mr Curtis.

  21. Pingback: R.I.P Tony Curtis (via Gerry Walden’s Blog) « Poetry, Medicine and Fairy Tales

  22. Lisa K says:

    Thanks for a super image and sharing it and your experience with Mr. Curtis with the rest of us. You made me smile.

    We’ll miss you, Tony Curtis. Thanks for the good times.

    Lisa

  23. Craig - says:

    I will always remember Tony Curtis as the Great Houdini! He played that role so perfectly, although there are numerous folks who say that the story was not factual enough. That’s Hollywood!

  24. Chaya says:

    I also had the pleasure of meeting Tony Curtis for a brief few minutes many years ago. I also found him to be warm, charming, and gracious. Rest in peace, Tony. You will be sorely missed.

  25. Jean Paul says:

    Fantastic photography of Tony Curtis. You are a true artist Mr. Walden.

  26. What a beautiful portrait. I’ve heard from another photographer that he was a joy to work with. This photo is a lovely tribute. Look at that smile!

  27. Edwin Ritter says:

    R.I.P., Tony Curtis.

    Hope to watch ‘Some Like It Hot’ again soon.

  28. Nick says:

    I got to meet him a few years ago, and blogged about it just a few weeks ago. Lovely man & fabulous actor.

    http://getnickt.blogspot.com/2010/07/tony-curtis-meeting-in-desert.html

  29. Rest in peace. We’ll miss you!

  30. leilajm says:

    Me gustaba ver muchos las películas del Sr. Curtis y aun puedo disfrutar de ellas, y mi favorita es precisamente esa junto a Marlilyn Monroe y Jack Lemmon. Felicito que haya conocido un poquito mas de este señor.

  31. The Persuaders with Tony and Roger Moore was one of my favourite shows in the 80s (when it aired in my native Sweden). Many modern shows and actors could learn a thing or two from watching this dream-team.

    I am a little mystified by your statement “Despite the efforts of his agent, Tony was a true gentleman[…]”, however. Is there a back-story here?

    • Gerry Walden says:

      No real back story Michael, other than the fact that his agent wanted us (photographers) in the room 2 at a time, and gave us 2 minutes per pair. OK, we stretched it maybe to three minutes, but she was not happy.

  32. zakton says:

    I used to enjoy his movies when I was in high school in late 70s.

  33. Pingback: R.I.P Tony Curtis (via Gerry Walden’s Blog) « Beto Bertagna a 24 quadros

  34. Great shot. I loved your blog post, and feel I know Mr. Curtis a little better.

  35. eurybe08 says:

    Thanks for the update, he has made quite an impact in showbiz and he will be remembered well.

  36. harms says:

    i tought he was a hungaryan born. anyway R.I.P

  37. Redeker says:

    Legendary post, I enjoy this spectacular site,I found you along freshly pressed!

Leave a Reply

