Gems from Stones

Just occasionally, whilst shooting what has become routine work for me, a gem can come when you least expect it. I was at the Turner Sims Concert Hall in Southampton shooting the excellent jazz pianist Robert Glasper with his trio. Robert was his brilliant self and I sat for some time just listening to his fine improvisation, and enjoying the vibe and the general exchanges that go on through a session like this. Sadly I came away feeling that I had done an adequate job, but that I had nothing that was going to be other than a stock library shot. the light was bad, and I had to use flash, which I never like but is often necessary. The problem is it kills the mood.

It was not until I sat in front of the computer that I was able to ‘see’ this shot of Derrick Hodge playing bass. I had (in all honesty) no idea of who Derrick Hodge was, other than the fact my ears had told me he was a pretty fine bass player – but I suddenly ‘found’ this image thanks to a little work in Lightroom, and I hope that it captures the essence of acoustic bass. Sometimes you can get gems from stones if you open your eyes wide enough!

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Jazz, Lightroom 3, Music, Nikon, photography, Portrait and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gems from Stones

  1. vermathio says:

    Here the magic curtain background acts like figure of light interference and superposes to the vibration of the bass vibrato. Excellent effect !!!

  2. Jim Lawrence says:

    This would make a great Blue Note album cover. Great photo.

Leave a Reply

