Two for the Price of One

One of the lenses that I would not want to be without in my kit is a macro, and the Micro-Nikkor 105mm f2.8 is one of the finest I have ever used. I have the version that is the last one without VR (vibration reduction) and I am told that the latest redesign, which now has VR, is even better. I have always found it invaluable when I am shooting flowers or maybe fungus for stock because I can get in really tight when I want to. With its 14 elements in 12 groups (with 1 ED glass and 1 Nano Crystal coat glass element) you know it is going to be razor sharp. Used on the Nikon D300 like I do you get a 157mm lens that focuses down to just 0.31 meters (that is about a foot!)

What we tend to lose sight of though is what an excellent portrait lens this makes, giving you two lenses for the price of one.

I find when I am shooting at sound checks that the 105mm Micro gives me the right sort of distance between the subject and me, coupled with a depth of field which works well. This was put to good effect at the Turner Sims in Southampton last Friday when I was getting close and personal with the Denys Baptiste Quartet. This is a working time for the musicians, a time when they can often be stressed trying to get things just right. I don’t like to be too ‘in your face’ when guys like Denys (above) are working, but the Nikkor 70-200mm f2.8 just gets too heavy to use all the time (trust me!). On the 100% view of the above, which I processed from the original NEF using Aperture, you can see every bead of sweat on Denys’ brow as he works through his phrasing and every hair in his great plaits – that is the sort of detail I need.

If you get chance try using a macro lens as a portrait lens, I am sure you will not be disappointed!

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Aperture, Jazz, Music, Nikon, photography, Portrait, Stock and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

