Rediscovery

It being a little quiet around here, I have been exploring again my stock library and rediscovering images which can have a ‘second life’ thanks to the digital darkroom. Let me make it perfectly clear at this point that I am 100% against any computer program being used to rescue an image that should have been binned in the first place. All of my images are shot with the final outcome in mind, what is known as ‘previsualisation’ but sometimes it is possible to revisit a scene from the comfort of the office and produce a second image which missed you on the first visualisation.

I am still vacillating between Lightroom and Aperture, changing my mind almost daily, but just lately I have been using Lightroom because of some great presets which I have managed to download from various sites around the Internet. For this shot I used a preset named ‘wow-glow 2’ from those nice people at OnOne Software to change quite a nice stock shot of fishing boats on Lake Garda in Italy into a dreamy pastel image. This gives a second marketable image from the original at no cost, doubling my income potential:

Boats, Lake Garda

This is either right for you or not, but as income diminishes from stock I think that we have to look at every opportunity we can to maximise the potential of our images as often as possible.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Italy, Lightroom 3, Nikon, photography, Stock and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

