Joyland

Great Yarmouth on the eastern seaboard of England used to be one of the main fishing ports of the area. The wealth of the town was based almost entirely on the herring fishing industry, and the wealthy past is still plain to see with the merchants houses and Victorian fun palaces and the piers along the seafront. It was said that you could walk across the harbour on herring without getting your feet wet in its heyday, but alas those days have have now past and it sadly has little to offer apart from the slot machine ridden seafront which is better seen in its neon-lit glory at night than its sad decay during the day.

It therefore came as some surprise when I spotted the chrome and aluminium edifice of a so called American Family Diner on the promenade! And I have to admit they have done a pretty good job, in the humble opinion of this Limey, of recreating the 1950’s decor complete with chromium furniture looking like it is straight out of a painting by Jack Vettriano.Food was another matter, and was everything you would expect from an English seaside café but it looked good and was served by friendly staff.

With permission I took a few quick images, and I felt they captured the mood of the times by converting them to monochrome using Topaz Labs wonderful (and very reasonably priced) BW Effects filter plug-in for Adobe Photoshop CS5. I hope you like the results!


I intend to have a look again at the images using an ‘aged Kodachrome’ plug-in but that will have to wait for another day.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Micro Four Thirds, Panasonic, photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joyland

Leave a Reply

