Looking Back

One of the big problems of digital photography in my opinion is that we see the images too quickly and don’t necessarily appreciate what we have captured. It is easy to write images off and not realise the potential of them. When we shot film (ah yes, I remember film!) we never saw the end result until the film had been processed and by then the original visualisation had often ben replaced in our brain by other thoughts. When shooting we used to use something called previsualisation, the process of deciding the end result before we pressed the shutter button.

Today, in our instant world, we press the shutter button without really thinking too much about what we are doing and the make an istant decision on whether to trash the image or not as soon as we see it on that screen on the back of the camera, r on the computer when we download it the same day. This came home to me when going back over some old images and noticed an image which I quite liked at the time but was not sure what to do with it. Five years later, and using postvisualisation my brain finally sorted it out and I was able to reprocess the image with new thoughts.

The original, shot near where I live, was dull sand with some pretty average seaweed.  I took it into Lightroom 3 and used the black and white processing ability to produce the tone scale that I liked, and then applied a vignette to it to concentrate the images and give me this:

I am pretty happy with the end result and have made it available as a Fine Art print on my web site.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Lightroom 3, photography, Prints for sale, Stock. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking Back

  1. chameleonic says:

    that photo is gorgeous! keep up the amazing work!

  2. Gerry Walden says:

    Thank you so much for your comment, and for subscribing to my blog. I have been doing this for many years and don’t intend to give up now (God willing!)

Leave a Reply

