Vaisakhi Lady

Living in the multicultural society of a large city can give you photo opportunities at celebrations of many events in calendars other than your own. Vaisakhi is one such event and is celebrated in the Hindu community here with a parade through the town. Colourful, noisy and vibrant it is difficult not to get a few good images but the image below eluded my post-shooting thought processes for some time. Shot using digital RAW it was a colourful image, but I wanted something else out of it which conveyed the lady in her alter years unswamped by colour – something that captured her spirit more than her clothes and only monochrome can does this in my opinion. Using the new Lightroom 4 Beta I finally achieved what I was after by adding a gold tone which made her face more radiant and I was able to hold back other areas of the image. I am very pleased with the result and hope you like it too!

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Lightroom 4, Monochrome, Nikon, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment