Au Pont Louis Philippe

Street photography is, for me, a bit like fishing in that sometimes you catch something, sometimes you don’t. A good fishing river has always been the place that I consider the home of fine street photography, namely France. But if you want to fish in one of the finest salmon streams then you have to be in Paris, and I get there as often as I can but never, ever often enough.

One of my favourite areas of Paris is the end of the Pont Louis Philippe where it joins the Ile Saint-Louis to the shore. This is close to the Hôtel de Ville and near to the European centre of Photography as well as the Hôtel de Sully. It is also home to small back streets, strange tea shops and wonderful restaurants and antique shops. It is part of old Paris which is away from the main tourist centres, and yet so close to them.

It is also home to a favourite restaurant, and whilst strolling near there one day I just fell in love with this antique shop exterior which has become one of my most viewed images on various web sites. I have therefore decided to make it part of my Fine Art offerings on my web site – and don’t forget that until February 15 you can get 25% off it by entering ART25 at the checkout stage on the site. It was taken on the Leica M6 I was so fond of at that time.

 

 

 

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Art Print, Black and White, France, Leica, Monochrome, Paris, photography, Prints for sale, Street and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Au Pont Louis Philippe

  1. Simon says:

    Sweet black & white Gerry, I like photograph and the processing a lot!

Leave a Reply

