Changes, Changes, Changes

OK, so I am not the best blog poster but (unusually) this time I have a pretty lame excuse – the fact that many things have been changing in my world and I have been pretty busy sorting them out.

1. Change #1

The biggest change is that I have traded all of my camera gear in with my favourite camera store (London Camera Exchange in Civic Centre Road, Southampton) and picked up the brand new Fuji X-Pro1 and it has revolutionised my shooting. Currently I have the 35mm (=50mm) and 60mm (=90mm) lenses, and I can’t wait until I can afford the 18mm (=27mm) wide angle. This whole change has taken me back to my film camera days and the Leica kit I used to use then, but has done this with all the advantages of digital capture. I have to say the lenses are probably the sharpest I have ever used, the lack of noise is tremendous and the jpegs are wonderful straight out of the camera! Yes, you guessed it I AM IN LOVE!

Change #2

The second and almost as important change is the launch by Adobe of Lightroom 4, which is the finest version yet of this fine program and has made the quality of images from most cameras far better. The changes in the way adjustments works alone is worth the money for this program. If you are serious about your photography and you are not using this program I really do have to ask how you are managing to keep a track of things.

Change #3

As a direct result of the two changes above, I have started shooting weddings again. the biggest reasons for this is that the new Fuji kit is so much lighter than any other gear I have used in the past, and the low light ability means I can now shoot the whole wedding without the need for flash at any stage. I will probably tweet on weddings more later, but in the meantime here is a link to my wedding portfolio.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Fuji X-Pro1, Lightroom 4, photography, Wedding and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changes, Changes, Changes

  1. Gerry,
    I (unlike you) am completely frustrated with Lightroom 4. I go through my library images. I delete star and flag according to my criteria then I click on Develop mode and there are no images. I have a grey screen that says “No photo selected” (which is garbage because I know exactly which ones I want). I have tried using google to get answers to this new dilemna that I never had with previous versions but I have found no answers. Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks in advance,
    Sophia

Leave a Reply

