Vaisakhi 2012

I live in a multicultural city with a fairly large population of people from the Indian subcontinent, in particular Punjab, and I always enjoy the fun and hospitality of celebrating the various festivals of their calendar. I am always made to feel at home and my camera is never shunned making working a special pleasure.

The great New Year festival of Vaisakhi in mid-April is a particularly pleasant time to join the street parade and do a little street photography, particularly because of the involvement of the children. This year was no exception and I spent a little time shooting with the X-Pro1 before the procession set off on its journey from gurdwara to gurdwara with the priest bringing blessings to each of them in turn.

Although this is a very colourful and noisy parade, this year I decided that my images captured the moment better in black and white and so I converted a number and you can see the results below:

If you want to view the other images from this year and a previous year please go to this gallery on my web site.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Fuji X-Pro1, Monochrome, photography, Street, Suthampton and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vaisakhi 2012

  1. Excellent picture of the little girl with all the adults in the back-ground.

  2. I’m particularly enjoying the blogs of photographers. As I try to develop my website to showcase my woodturning, I am striving to perfect taking pictures of my items – something that I’ve discovered takes a great deal of skill! Reading blogs and looking at other people’s photographs helps to give me incentive. My next step is to learn to take pictures of my pieces “in-situ”!

  3. Gerry Walden says:

    I have a personal friend who has written an number of books on woodturning called Hilary Bowen (you may have heard of her) and she is a very fine photographer.

  4. "Occam Blade" says:

    There’s a wonderful richness in your B&W images of which I refer to as “plasma.” I use the adjective when trying to describe articles, essays, photographs etc. that make me sit-up and take notice. I could talk in terms of the Zone System or other photo-speak, but for the general audience [as in those who also read your blog & comments], plasma can create its own sentient connotation for the viewer/reader. Nice work…

    • Gerry Walden says:

      Thanks very much. In the days of film I used to shoot exclusively in b&w but when I switched to digital it was as if I had lost the ability to see in mono. I could go on about having to previsualise twice etc. etc., but now I feel I am getting it back to a stage where I feel very at home with it again.

Leave a Reply

