Not my forte?

I will freely confess that landscape photography as a genre is not really my thing, although I do try when I get the opportunity. Black and white lanscape photography is even more not my thing – to put it bluntly I just can’t see landscapes the way great photographers do. I make no bones about it, my talent (if indeed I have any at all!) lies in other directions.

I shot an image back in 2009 whilst in the Peak District here in central England because I thought I saw something in it and I have been going back to it occasionally wondering what the hell to do with it. I could have just deleted the file, but I thought that if I had bothered to stop the car and take it in the first place there must have been something in it.

Well, finally I have come up with an image that I am reasonably satisfied with and feel does some justice to what I saw at the time. The processing was done in Lightroom 4, and the original was shot on a Nikon D300:

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Lightroom 4, Monochrome, Nikon, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not my forte?

  1. Gerry Walden says:

    A lot of people have said they like this posting, which I greatly appreciate. Thanks everyone!

    Gerry

  2. Bob says:

    I can see a moo moo Gerry! It must have been Frisian up there mate…

  3. ndjmom says:

    Very nice, I have a hard time “seeing” in black and white also, or sepia, but it’s something I’m going to try and work on this year.

    • Gerry Walden says:

      I generally have no problem previsualising in b&w, but landscapes I do have problems with. I saw this one and knew there was a worthwhile image there but somehow the idea of converting it to a b&w image escaped me and I just forgot the image. It is always a good idea to revisit images in case there is another version lurking there that has failed to emerged so far. Similarly, I like to revisit old contact sheets because you occasionally find hidden gems that you were too blind to see at the first viewing.

Leave a Reply

