Back home again!

I am pleased to say that I am back home again after my week in France, and the words of the song are so true when they say that it is noce to go travelling, but it is so much nicer to be home! This time I was pleased to see my bed as the beds where we were staying were not the most comfortable I have ever slept in by a long way.

I put the X-Pro1 to good use whilst away, and reinforced my live of France and shooting there. There is something about France which just seems to fit what I do, especially when it comes to street photography. Talking of which I was surprised in Calais to see another photographer shooting the streets with a guide who was showing him what would make a good photograph. This not how I see street photography, but with the sudden upsurge in interest I guess it will be the way it will go for a while.

I have a fair number of images to process, but here is a quick taster to whet your appetite for now. It was shot in the small town of Guînes in the Pas de Calais using the X-Pro1 and the 35mm lens.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, France, Fuji X-Pro1, Lightroom 4, Monochrome, photography, Street and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back home again!

  1. ndjmom says:

    Street photography in France is wonderful. I was in Southern France in 2005 and really want to bring out my old digital images and see what I can do with them. Buildings, cafes and people are so interesting.

  2. Gerry Walden says:

    The great thing in photography is you can go back and discover new images in your old work, and that is especially true when you reprocess digital images, maybe as black and white or a special process.

Leave a Reply

