Shoes of Hope

In the late 7th or early 8th Century a monk traveled from Ireland to Normandy and worked in and around the town of Saint Omer. He died there in 734 crippled by walking his whole time through the countryside. Later made a Saint, Erkembode became the patron saint of cripples and people now make pilgrimages to place their shoes and those of their children on his tomb and to to pray for their recovery from debilitating illnesses.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in France, Fuji X-Pro1, Lightroom 4, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shoes of Hope

  1. Very neat! Anything specific that made you want to post about this?

    • Gerry Walden says:

      Not really, I just think that it is sad but my job as a photographer is to capture what is there to the best of my ability without comment.

      • Well thank you for sharing, and I hope your travels lead to more interesting posts. It’s truly a sad story but hopefully they find peace and healing through their determination.

Leave a Reply

