Ok, it is all over for now!

No, not the Olympic Games but the Indian wedding I tackled last weekend. I say ‘tackled’ which makes it sound like it was a bit of a scrum but it all went to plan and I am very pleased with the outcome. For me the aim was to capture the four main stages of the wedding in such a way that I could tell the whole story and I was rewarded with the following from the Bride and Groom: “Have looked at the pics. AMAZING! (We) are so happy with them. Couldn’t ask for anything more. You have captured our day perfectly!” tweeted from their honeymoon hotel in Thailand. Comments like that mean far more to me than any financial reward.

The couple had requested a lot of black and white images, and I wanted to keep the whole thing as informal as possible. I kept the family groups and posed images to an absolute minimum, but with guests from all over the worlds you cannot avoid them all together. The greatest thing was that I shot the whole wedding without flash thanks to the wonderful low noise and high iso abilities of the Fuji X-Pro1. I shot in RAW and jpeg (Fine) with speeds from 200iso to 6400iso. In the end I used only the jpegs, they were so very good straight from the camera. Everything was post-processed in Lightroom 4.

Here is a few images from those shown to the happy couple:

 

 

 

 

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Fuji X-Pro1, Lightroom 4, Monochrome, photography, Wedding and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

