Nine years and counting!

I have been going back through my files selecting images for a new web gallery that will feature my work on a Swedish photography site, and I realised it is almost exactly nine years ago that I started shooting digital, and all that entails. My first digital camer was a Fuji Finepix S2Pro, chosen because (in theory at least) it would take my Leica R series lenses with an adapter. At that time I was shooting with Leica M and R equipment. However it soon became clear that the practicality of the situation was that Nikon lenses would be the better option as the camera had a Nikon bayonet and was basically a Nikon camera with some minor differences, so that lead me down the Nikon lens route and eventually to a Nikon camera.

Many cameras and lenses later it is somewhat a homecoming that I am now shooting with the exceptional Fujifilm X-Pro1, a camera which is clearly modelled on the Leica M and giving it a good run for its money.

In those days (2003) a 1gB was £240 (no, that is not a typing error) so I went off to Italy with my new camera and a 1gB card, and shot jpegs because I could get more on to the card, pure and simple. Here is one from that first trip which is still a favourite of mine.

Image

 

 

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

