Capture One Update

I gave up dealing with Phase One (see below) and decided to purchase a copy (upgrade) of Capture One Version 7.0.2 to process my files from the Fuji X-Pro1. I went to http://www.captureonecomplete.com and dealt with Chris Ireland. His service was great and I would recommend him, as purchasing through him gives access to free tutorials which are a great help in so many ways.

O.K. – so how is it? So far I have only had time to do a short trial but it s making a superb job of everything I have thrown at it so far. Images look cleaner and some of the processes (e.g black and white conversion) is excellent. If you have been used to Lightroom it may take a while to get used to its method of working but it is pretty intuitive. On the downside it is not a program that is too good at metadata input, you may want to do that elsewhere – personally I recommend Photo mechanic, although Phase One recommends Media Pro (I just can’t get my head around it!)

for the time being I will stick with Capture One, but there is a new version of Aperture rumoured for next month, so watch this space!

 

 

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Capture One, Fuji X-Pro1, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

