Norman Parkinson on BBC4

If you have any interest in photography or fashion be sure to watch BBC4 at 9 tonight: “Arena – AKA Norman Parkinson”, one of Britains’ best ever photographers! I will never forget visiting  a major retrospective of his work in London and standing there stunned by the sheer beauty of his images. Although many may now regard him as of another age, his work was a mainstay of fashion photography in magazines such as ‘Vogue’, and his other work, especially portraiture, was simply awe inspiring. Although others may have had a more glamorous lifestyle, he is in my opinion one of the greates ever.

This is just one of his many covers for ‘Vogue’ and an example of his inventiveness as a fashion photographer:

© Norman Parkinson

Parks #2 Parks

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in photography, Portrait and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

