‘Musical Alphabet’ nominated for a major award

Back in the summer of 2012 I was involved in an exciting city-wide project in Southampton involving many genres of music performed at venues across the city. There was everything from baroque in the Tudor House to marching bands on the Guildhall Square. That project has now been nominated for a prestigious national award, and I am pleased that my images formed a major part of the submission.

This is a statement from Kevin Appleby, Manager at the Turner Sims Concert Hall and co-ordinator of the event:

“On 11 April the Royal Philharmonic Society named ‘Southampton’s Musical Alphabet’ on the shortlist for its annual Music Awards which are presented in London on Tuesday 14 May. The project is shortlisted in the Audiences and Engagement category, the nominations for which are defined as ‘an outstanding initiative by an organisation or individual to engage new and existing audiences with classical music’. The scope of the award embraces marketing, communication, creative programming, imaginative use of technology and innovative presentation. Rather dauntingly we are up against the Philharmonia Orchestra’s Universe of Sound project and Sistema Scotland’s The Big Concert, which launched the London 2012 Festival last July. Having said that I know from the regular mentions which the Alphabet has had in meetings and forums I’ve attended since it happened that it created a buzz of its own and so is there on merit.

The project was an enormous effort by everyone involved and I’m delighted that the RPS has profiled it.”

You can see a slideshow of my images from the event on the link below:

http://gerrywalden.zenfolio.com/p808519826/slideshow

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Micro Four Thirds, Music, Panasonic, photography, Southampton, Turner Sims, Turner Sims, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Musical Alphabet’ nominated for a major award

  1. Pingback: ‘Musical Alphabet’ nominated for a major award | Gerry Walden's Blog

Leave a Reply

