Elderly Lady – Honningsvåg

One of the greatest pleasures of photography is the interesting people you meet along the way.

The small village of Honningsvåg sits firmly some 600miles (1,000km) inside the Arctic Circle and just about as far north as you can go in Europe without falling off the edge. The 1.21 sq. km. city (yes, it is a ‘city’  by special decree of the Norwegian government) has a population of just around 2,500 people and yet they are regularly invaded by cruise ships spilling their contents on to the streets, outnumbering the local population in most cases.

It is, of course, a mixed blessing and one or two of the local Sami people compete with the large souvenir shop with its ‘Made in China’ trinkets to sell paper knifes and earrings etc. made from the bones of the reindeer that provide there living. These are people who have been herding reindeer for generations, it is the only life they know. They do not regard themselves as part of Norway but are Sápmi, the indigenous people of the European Arctic.

I got in to conversation with the kind lady who was selling her wares (and who spoke excellent English) and after a few jokes asked if I could photograph the older lady (the grandmother). After a few words the lady kindly agreed. It was an honour to have a few intimate moments with this lady who had lived a life that I can only imagine, and I will remember those moments for a very long time.

People allow us into their lives when we photograph them. It is an honour and we should never take it lightly. I sincerely hope that I have done her justice and hope she will remember me as fondly.

Sami Lady

Fujifilm X-Pro1 with 60mm lens. 1/400th at f8 and 400iso. Post-processed using Lightroom 5.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Fuji X-Pro1, Portrait and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

