Lighthouse Church Project

All religions have birth ceremonies, marriage ceremonies and death ceremonies, and I have wanted to do a project to show the similarities rather than the differences for many years. It should therefore come as no surprise that when I was offered the chance to photograph the life of a small local free church I jumped at the chance.

Lighthouse is a Christian group which aims to outreach in an inner city area, especially to members of the strong Asian Indian community. Formed 30 years ago by two like-minded people, it has grown to a congregation of up to 300, and because it was their thirtieth year I was asked to record some of their year. I centered on 3 main events, a study group looking at ‘Why Jesus?’, a Passion Play, and the thirtieth celebrations themselves (which were held in a ‘borrowed’ church because of possible numbers). These images are from those three events.

This project was shot on the Fujifilm X-Pro1 using the 18mm, 35mm and 60mm lenses using iso speeds up to 6400iso and was post-processed in Lightroom 5 and SilverEfex Pro2. I am very pleased (honoured) to say that it has now been published on the Social Documentary web site here.

Lighthouse-17

I want to thank all those who assisted me with their patience at my intrusion into their devotion.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in 18mm, 35mm, Black and White, Fuji X-Pro1, Monochrome, photography, SilverEfex Pro 2, Suthampton and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

