Bobby Womack

I was saddened today to see that another music legend had gone to that great studio in the sky. Bobby Womack was a giant of the music world who was virtually unknown here in the U.K.. I had the great pleasure of photographing him at the now-defunct Top Rank suite here in Southampton in the late 70’s and can remember being knock out by his presence on stage. At that time he had a number of hit singles and albums in the U.S. charts and yet to audiences here he was virtually unknown. I am sorry to say that the images I made at that time are now buried somewhere in my archives but I will never forget that night. His children went on to achieve stardom in their own right as Womack and Womack, and Bobby kept people rocking up until very recently, cutting his last album in 2012.

Womack’s career was a chequered one but he performed with virtually anybody who was anybody over the years. Wherever you are now Bobby, keep the beat!

http://www.theguardian.com/music/2014/jun/28/bobby-womack-dies-aged-70

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Jazz, Music, photography, Southampton and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

