First Foray into the World of Digital

In October 2003 my wife and I travelled to Umbria to celebrate our 34th wedding anniversary, and I took with me my first ever digital camera. It was a Fuji Finepix S2Pro which I had bought because it was capable of taking a Leica to Nikon lens adapter, and up until that time I had been shooting with a Leica R8 SLR. Because of the high expense of Compact Flash cards at that time (£240 for a 1gb one!) I had limited storage capacity, so I only shot jpegs. My initial impressions were pretty average.

Times have of course moved on, as has processing software and my knowledge of what it can do. Because I am now in the process submitting some of those earlier digital images to a new (to me) stock agency, I have been taking a new look at them and reprocessing them using Lightroom 5.5, and I have been pleasantly surprised at the quality of them.

The image below of the Basilica of St. Francis in Assisi was taken on a Nikon 18mm lens at 800 iso (probably because I forgot to reset the camera from shooting interiors). The shutter speed was 1/750 @ f13.

Assisi - basillica of St. Francis

 

 

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Italy, Lightroom 5, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

