Changing Direction?

Over the many years that I have ben pressing the button on whichever camera I have been using at the time the centre of my focus has been primarily on people – people of all shapes and sizes from royalty to clowns, blushing brides to some young ladies who you would find it very hard to make blush!

Lately though I have been thinking of more mellow things such as the beauty of nature, the glory of a sunset or the majesty of a solitary tree. Maybe it is age, maybe it is the loss of my darling wife a year ago, maybe it is subconscious rebellion against the horrors of the daily news bulletins. Who knows? All I know is that a change is taking place in my head. This was brought to the forefront when I listened to a master Charlie Waite and looked in depth at some of his wonderful images. Don’t get me wrong, I have always enjoyed a good landscape, but they have never been the focus of attention for my lens.

I will confess that one of the salient factors has been that I have never felt that I can ‘see’ landscapes and, as photographers, I feel sure you will understand. However I have decided it is to change all that and I have decided to try and master the landscape and concentrate on it more from now on. Whether it will work or not is another matter, but if I don’t try then I will never know. A quote I heard today is where I am at with this at the moment – ‘every river starts with a small trickle’. I have posted a couple below of what my new thinking is about, and I will see how I get on – so watch this space!

Flower Basket Blossom & Trees Island, Tromsø Fjord

 

 

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Art Print, Flowers, Landscapes, Lightroom 5, photography, Prints for sale and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changing Direction?

  1. Tara says:

    Lovely images. Placing the bike in the frame works compositionally (sp?) as well as narratively. Though I have been photographing for35 years, I still find landscapes a great challenge. Good luck to you!

    • Gerry Walden says:

      Tara

      Thank you for your very kind comments. I have never been able to ‘see’ landscapes in my opinion but a good friend assures me that they are fine. If you got to the home page of my website you will see my ‘Art prints’ gallery so you can let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

