You Never Know

Ten years ago almost to the day I photographed the young daughter of an Indian friend eating some Indian food whilst wearing her smartest traditional clothes. I did this in response to a specific image request, and a model release was signed. The prospective client never chose the image but I kept it on file anyway, lodged it with a couple of agencies and, to be honest, thought little more about it.

It was taken on a Nikon D1X which was pretty ‘state of the art’ in those days using a Nikon 28 – 105 zoom lens, and a single flash held off-camera. It was a very quick session with little fuss so as not to upset the young child, and that was the end of the story.

Suddenly today I received a notification that the image has sold in Germany to a book publisher for a limited print run. Trust me, I won’t be retiring on the proceeds but it will pay for the coffees this week and just goes to prove that library sales can make a very useful supplement to the normal income. Oh I nearly forgot, here is the image:

Young Asian Indian girl eating a traditional meal

 

 

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Nikon, Nikon, photography, Stock and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You Never Know

  1. Tara says:

    wonderful news! I always wonder if there is money to be made in stock photos. In any case, it doesn’t hurt to put them out there, and sometimes, like now, you get a nice surprise. Congrats.

  2. Tara says:

    Gerry: it’s a small world. I put a question out to Bob Adler regarding which web site he uses to host is photography pages. Tina Manley did as well. Then you chimed in! Imagine my surprise! I would be interested in that code so I may receive a discount. tpcrowley57@gmail.com.

    Many thanks.

Leave a Reply

