The Ferry Trip

This is from my trip to the US in 2001 and was taken on the Ellis Island Ferry using the Leica M6 and TX400CN.

A disabled woman and her partner take a trip aboard the Ellis Island Ferry, New York, USA

A disabled woman and her partner take a trip aboard the Ellis Island Ferry, New York, USA

I thought long and hard about posting this image, and finally came to the conclusion that less able-bodied people are a part of our society and that this shows a caring relationship and inclusion in the world.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Film, Leica, Leica, Monochrome, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ferry Trip

  1. Tara Crowley says:

    I enjoy the image very much and had no idea you were struggling with whether or not to post. People in wheelchairs, or using other devices to remain mobile are everywhere – my mother included. I like that people are still getting out into the world despite the extra effort it takes. I always silently cheer them on when I see them.

    • Gerry Walden says:

      Thank you for your comments Tara. There is a lot of negative thought in street photography about showing people with various social problems such as disabled people, rough sleepers etc. etc. but they are all part of our modern society and our job (if indeed we have one) as photographers is to record society as it is and not to hide elements of it

Leave a Reply

