Willy Ronis

I have just been looking again at the wonderful photography of French photographer who, for me at least, ranks up there with the great names of Henry Cartier-Bresson and Robert Doisneau. When it comes to the world of social documentary photography there are few who surpass him in his capturing of the lives of the working man.

I first saw his work in Oxford maybe 30+ years ago and knew then that I was in the presence of a master. I travelled to Oxford on the strength of a couple of images seen in a magazine publicising the exhibition, and recall I had trouble finding the gallery. My efforts were not disappointed. Even now every time I see his work I sit with a smile on my face at his penetration of everyday life.

He is often overlooked in these days of hurried street photography in overblown oversaturated colour but I would urge you to look for him and the subtlety of his soft monochrome images – he is and always will be one of the greats!

You can see his work, and smile with me I hope, on this YouTube video which I hope you will find are a few minutes well spent.

 

 

 

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, France, Leica, Paris, photography, Street. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

