Vaping

On my recent trip into the city this guy came and sat next to me. I have wanted a ‘vaping’ shot for some time, and he was concentrating so much on his mobile phone he didn’t notice me shooting with my Leica M9 and 24mm Elmarit f2.8 lens. For non-English readers ‘vaping’ is the English word for smoking e-cigarettes. It shows you are better off shooting with wide angles on the street than with telephotos. As Magnum photographer famously said Robert Capa “if your photos era’t good enough, you are not close enough”

(Southampton, England 2017)

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Leica, Leica 24mm Elmarit-M f2.8, Leica M9, Lenses, Monochrome, photography, Southampton and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vaping

  1. Tara Crowley says:

    I like the stark black and white of this. The fellow in profile. Vaping sure makes a lot of mist!

    • Gerry Walden says:

      Thank you Tara, and thanks for taking the time to comment. I felt that the only way the image worked was to emphasise the ‘mist’, and by putting it in silhouette it is exactly how I imagined it. I would have liked to be a little father back from him to give a little more space but he was on the next seat of a park bench so there was nothing I could do.

Leave a Reply

