The Camera never Lies

This image was taken in Barcelona in 2014 when I stumbled across traditional dancing in the square outside the cathedral in the centre of the old town. It is a simple image and started life as a coloured shot with a very colourful crowd in the background. What you are seeing here is a crop of the original. So there we have it, two friends holding hands aloft as part of a traditional dance, much as a couple may in a jive.

Now let’s take it out of that context and put it into the context of Catalonian independence, or for that matter any other political arena. What do we now see? We see unity, we see togetherness, we see standing together for a common cause. No longer do we see the joy of dancing but now the stress and anguish of politics.

The camera never lies, but the photographer may distort the truth!

(Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain)

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Black and White, Fuji X-Pro1, Monochrome, photography, Stock, Street and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment