The Man with the Umbrella

(Paris, France)

So often, street photography is said to rely on a stroke of luck. There’s an old saying that the more one practices, the luckier they become. In this particular image, the scene appears quite simple: a man leisurely strolling down a Parisian street, carrying an umbrella, passing by the end of a walkway. Yet, the truth is, I couldn’t possibly have predicted this moment, nor anticipated his gaze in my direction. Henri Cartier-Bresson often discussed the concept of the “decisive moment” – the precise instant to capture an image, neither too early nor too late. But how could I have known that this very moment was the one? I could have stood there all day, without ever encountering such a serendipitous occurrence. It was as if some inexplicable instinct kicked in, prompting me to press the shutter button. I wasn’t even aware of the image until days later, when I finally developed the film from my trusty Leica camera. And there it was, as if the stars had perfectly aligned, creating a truly remarkable shot.

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Street and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment