Visual Performances Exhibition

I have been photographing musicians for more years than he would care to admit. I started in the early 70’s when bands like AC/DC and The Stranglers were early captures, and Ronny Scott and Jimmy Witherspoon also fell prey to my lens, but other work and technical difficulties of shooting in very low light made me redirect my attentions elsewhere. However, with the advent of digital cameras and better lens technology I returned my attention to the music scene, and in particular jazz. I now have an exhibition of images at the Turner Sims Concert Hall on Southampton University campus and the images chosen for this exhibition are just a few of the artists I has captured in the last five years – all the images are unposed (many taken during sound checks etc.)   The panel layout is:

Left Panel
Dennis Rollins    Evan Christopher    Julian Argüelles
Van Morrison    Buzz Singh    Denys Baptiste

Centre Panel
Martin Taylor    Dancer (Desi Nach Dancers)    Hugh Masekela
Jason Yarde    Napoleon Maddox    Pat Martino

Right Panel
Stan Tracey    Neil Cowley    Frank Harrison
Nigel Kennedy    Isaac Hayes    Courtney Pine

 

 

If you get chance it would be good to see you there, and if you want to meet for coffee let me know!   Prints on archival paper are available through the Box Office at the Turner Sims.

Many of the images shown have been taken in the Turner Sims Concert Hall, and I would like to thank Kevin Appleby and his staff for their help and co-operation in the making of the images, together with all the other venues that I have visited – and, of course, the many musicians who have tolerated me!

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Jazz, Music, Nikon, photography, Portrait, Stock and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Visual Performances Exhibition

  1. Pingback: Friday Shout-Outs, Winning Ways, and Great Thinking ‹ The PhotoShelter Blog

Leave a comment