Fuji X-Pro1 and Capture One Ver. 7.0.2

I have been beta testing the latest version of Capture One (7.0.2) which is released today and promises to work with the latest Fujifilm X series cameras (X-Pro1, XE etc.)  I found many problems with the beta version such as import problems,  the program locking, files being renumbered etc. etc. – so many that I found the program virtually unusable.  The final release is now available and I have downloaded it but I cannot try it because they tell me my trial period has expired and that I will have to buy it to try it. Let me say at this stage I have been a user of Capture One software since version 4 (I think) so my purchase would be an upgrade, but I am certainly not a happy bunny as I have no way of knowing whether the many faults I found have been fixed. To me this seems more than a little unreasonable as I tried to assist with the beta version.  All I can say is that I would strongly advise you do not take the risk as the beta version caused me a lot of work restoring files, renumbering etc., and I certainly cannot recommend the program as I have no way of testing it.  Meanwhile, I can and do thoroughly recommend Lightroom 4.

 

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in Capture One, Fuji X-Pro1, Lightroom 4, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fuji X-Pro1 and Capture One Ver. 7.0.2

  1. I don’t know if you are on Mac or Windows but I beta tested 7.0.2 on a MacPro running 10.6.8, importing and processing RAF files from a X-E1 and I experienced non of the problems you mention. I did find that the Auto Mask and LCC functions have not yet been implemented for RAF files but, other than that, it’s been stable.

    • Gerry Walden says:

      Thanks for your comment Roger. As you may now have read I am using Capture One 7.0.2 and getting great results. My gripe was more that, having beta tested it and identified problems which were confirmed by Phase One, I could not test the final version to check the problems had been rectified. I am pleased to be able to report that they have.

Leave a comment