Wilton Sheep Sales

A traditional sheep sale is held in the ancient market town of Wilton (near Salisbury) in Wiltshire every year, and a total of over 8,000 sheep change hands. As with any farming community the men are hard working and weathered, and the women are there to assist and support their men. As well as a necessary economic event the market is, of course, a social event for all involved and an opportunity to catch up on gossip. All were shot on a Leica M9 and Zeiss 50mm Sonnar f1.5 lens. Post-processing was in Lightroom CC.

Wilton Sheep Fair #4

A young female at the Wilton sheep sales looks into the face of a sheep.

A young female at the Wilton sheep sales looks into the face of a sheep.

Wilton Sheep Fair #6 Wilton Sheep Fair #7 Wilton Sheep Fair #5 Wilton Sheep Fair #3 Wilton Sheep Fair #2 Wilton Sheep Fair #8 Wilton Sheep Fair #1

About Gerry Walden

I am a stock photographer with far more years of experience than I would care to mention. Located in Southampton (UK) I am sandwiched between two national parks and my home town is a major seaport. I shoot mostly people related images, and travel when I can. I am resident photographer at a major concert venue in the town which means I get to shoot a variety of musicians.
This entry was posted in 50mm Zeiss Sonnar f1.5, Animals, Black and White, Farming, Leica, Monochrome, photography, Street and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment